1. Home
  2. Vetting and clearance
  3. Structural assurance

Structural assurance

Oil, chemical and LPG tankers greater than 20,000 deadweight tonnage (dwt) must hold a minimum Condition Assessment Programme (CAP) 2 rating. This is required after reaching 15 years of age or by the end of the third  special survey, whichever is sooner.

LNG vessels must also hold a minimum CAP 2 rating, to be gained after reaching 20 years of age or by fourth special survey, whichever is sooner.


The maximum period of validity of a CAP rating is three years from the last day of the CAP survey. CAP ratings and reports issued by Lloyd's Register, Det Norske Veritas, American Bureau of Shipping, Bureau Veritas, Nippon Kaiji Kyokai, Germanischer Lloyd, Registro Italiano Navale, Korean Register of Shipping and the China Classification Society are generally considered acceptable, providing they include fatigue analysis and have been assessed by the BPS assessement and inspection team.

For more information contact structuralresponses@uk.bp.com