BP announces 2017 Alaska Teachers of Excellence

Release date: May 9, 2017

1 / 8

Annual program to recognize 29 outstanding teachers statewide

ANCHORAGE– BP once again will honor a select group of teachers from across Alaska for their exceptional performance in the classroom, dedication to students and contribution to the state’s future.

For 2017, the BP Teachers of Excellence program will recognize 29 teachers statewide with a $500 gift card and a $500 matching grant to their school.

“BP is proud to honor these great teachers and their tireless work in the classroom,” said BP Alaska Regional President Janet Weiss. “We see it as part of our ongoing commitment to the communities where our people live and work – and an investment in the people who help make Alaska great.”

Now in its 22nd year, the BP Teachers of Excellence program honors K-12 teachers from all school districts statewide, including public and private schools. In 2017, the program attracted more than 1,000 nominations.

Since the program’s inception in 1995, BP has recognized nearly 750 teachers for their dedication to teaching and inspiring students. For the first time, the 2017 program also will honor five school staff members for their support of Alaska’s teachers as BP Educational Allies.

The BP Teachers of Excellence winners are:

Anchorage School District

Sarah Birmanns Polaris K-12 School
Meghan Card Gruening Middle School
Tara Gardeline Rabbit Creek Elementary School
Deborah Mitchell O'Malley Elementary School
Nichole Pieper Ursa Minor Elementary School
Heather Roach East Anchorage High School
Gary Snyder East Anchorage High School
Stephanie Thornton Chugiak High School

Fairbanks North Star School District

Elizabeth Alexander North Pole High School
Stephanie Astleford Nordale Elementary School
Rachel DeTemple James T. Hutchison High School
Robert Kinder Wood River Elementary School
Eric Rush Ticasuk Brown Elementary School
Erica West Randy Smith Middle School

Other Alaska School Districts

Deanna Ferguson Claus Craig High School, Craig
Marlys House Eagle Community School, Eagle
Sara Jacoby Mt. Edgecumbe High School, Sitka
Sarah Jones Chenega Bay School, Chenega Bay
Alexandra Razor Juneau Douglas High School, Juneau

Kenai Peninsula Borough School District

Stephanie Cronin Seward High School
Jonathan Dillon Mountain View Elementary School
Barbara Larrivee West Homer Elementary School
Meredith McCullough Kenai Central High School
Colby Way Port Graham School


Matanuska-Susitna Borough School District

Diana Sloan-Basner Birchtree Charter School
Zack Lanphier Mat-Su Career and Technical High School
Dolores McKee Palmer Junior Middle School
Laura Wick Machetanz Elementary School
Sean Williams Sherrod Elementary School

Education Allies Honorees

Tim Calhoun Far North Christian School, Fairbanks
Barbara Ross West Valley High School, Fairbanks
Peggy Danewitz Northern Lights ABC School, Anchorage
Edward Scott Oceanview Elementary School, Anchorage
Karl Kircher Mountain View Elementary School, Kenai Peninsula
Virginia Fagerstrom Cottonwood Creek Elementary, Mat-Su
Linda Moore Nuiqsut Trapper School, Nuiqsut

For the complete list of winners across the state visit: BPteachers.com.

About BP in Alaska:

Alaska is one of the nation’s five largest oil producing states. BP operates the Prudhoe Bay oilfield, which this year celebrates 40 years of oil production in the state. In Alaska BP employs 1,700 people and supports more than 16,000 Alaska jobs through its business activities. Annually BP contributes $3 million to education and community organizations in Alaska.

Further information:

BP Press Office

USpress@bp.com; dawn.patience@bp.com

About BP:

Over the past 10 years, BP has invested more than $90 billion in the U.S. – more than any other energy company. BP is a leading producer of oil and gas and produces enough energy annually to light nearly the entire country for a year. Employing about 14,000 people across the country, BP supports more than 130,000 additional jobs through all of its business activities.