1. Home
  2. News and insights
  3. Press releases
  4. BP announces 2019 Alaska Teachers of Excellence

BP announces 2019 Alaska Teachers of Excellence

Release date:
April 8, 2019
In its 24th year, company-sponsored award recognizes top talent in classrooms statewide
Winners of the Alaska Teachers of Excellence 2019
More winners of the Alaska Teachers of Excellence 2019
Winners of the Alaska Teachers of Excellence 2019
More winners of the Alaska Teachers of Excellence 2019

ANCHORAGE - BP today announced the winners of the 2019 Alaska Teachers of Excellence, an award that for more than two decades has recognized the state's top educators. This year, the group is comprised of 21 teachers that were selected from schools across Alaska. 


“These teachers represent the best of Alaska education, and it’s an honor to recognize them with this award," said BP Alaska President Janet Weiss. "At BP, we’re proud to play a small part in supporting their continued success and showing our ongoing commitment to the state and to creating the leaders of tomorrow.”


For 24 years, the BP Teachers of Excellence program has honored K-12 teachers from public and private school districts statewide. This year, BP received hundreds of nominations for the Teachers of Excellence award and for the newly added BP Educational Allies award. The BP Educational Allies award recognizes unsung heroes in Alaska’s schools such as counselors, teacher assistants and custodians.

Since the program’s inception in 1995, BP has recognized more than 750 Alaska teachers. Winning teachers receive a $500 gift card and a $500 matching grant to their school. Teachers also receive a trip to Prudhoe Bay to learn about BP’s operations and paid admission for the Alaska Resource Education’s teacher course.

All teachers and educational allies will be honored at an award ceremony in late April, where the statewide BP Teacher of the Year will be announced.


BP Teachers of Excellence winners 



Anchorage school district
  • Natasha Bergt - Huffman Elementary School
  • Antara Brewer - AJ Dimond High School
  • Kelly Corrigan -Robert Service High School
  • Karen Gordon - Northwood ABC Elementary School
  • Trena Rose - Bayshore Elementary School
Fairbanks North Star school district
  • Jeannette Fortune - Ladd Elementary School
  • Tanya Mendelowitz - North Pole Elementary School
  • Rebecca Missler - North Pole High School
  • Carolyn Soderlund - Austin E. Lathrop High School
  • Rebecca Zaverl - Denali Elementary School
Kenai Peninsula Borough school district
  • Julie Doepken - William H. Seward Elementary School
  • Jennifer Hornung - Nikiski Middle/High School
  • Wendy Todd - Paul Banks Elementary School
Matanuska-Susitna Borough school district
  • Kimberly Flinn - Goose Bay Elementary School
  • Sara Lamont - Ron Larson Elementary School
  • Stacy Molina - Academy Charter School
  • Sarah Shepard - Colony High School
Other Alaska school districts
  • Danielle Huerta - St. Mary’s School, Kodiak
  • Candace Mudge - Denali Borough School District, Healy
  • Jody Smothers-Marcello - Sitka High School, Sitka
  • Gretchen Striker - Tri-Valley School, Healy

For the complete list of winners across the state at BP Teachers of Excellence.

About BP in Alaska

Alaska is one of the nation's five largest oil producing states. BP operates the Prudhoe Bay oilfield, which produces more than 50% of oil production in the state. In Alaska BP employs 1,500 people and supports more than 8,000 Alaska jobs through its business activities. Annually BP contributes $3 million to education and community organizations in Alaska.


About BP

BP is a global producer of oil and gas with operations in nearly 80 countries. BP has a larger economic footprint in the U.S. than in any other nation, and it has invested more than $115 billion here since 2005. BP employs about 14,000 people across the U.S. and supports more than 111,000 additional jobs through all its business activities. For more information on BP in America, visit www.bp.com/us.


Further information

Megan Baldino
U.S. Media Affairs, Alaska
Email: megan.baldino@bp.com
Phone: 907-564-5344