1. Home
  2. News and insights
  3. Press releases
  4. BP recognizes 32 Teachers of Excellence

BP recognizes 32 Teachers of Excellence

Release date:
May 3, 2016
Outstanding Alaska teachers celebrated for excellence in education
Teachers of Excellence winners 2016

ANCHORAGE (May 3, 2016) – BP again will honor a select group of teachers from across Alaska for their exceptional performance in the classroom, dedication to students and contribution to the state’s future.


Now in its 21st year, the BP Teachers of Excellence program will recognize 32 Alaska teachers in 2016, with winners receiving $500 gift card and a $500 matching grant to their school.


“At today’s oil prices, we look closely at every dollar we spend, and we believe that continuing to support our teachers in communities across Alaska remains a great investment in our state and in our future,” said BP Alaska Regional President Janet Weiss. “It’s another part of BP’s commitment to Alaska, and we’re honored to continue this great tradition.” 


The program honors K-12 teachers from all school districts, including public and private schools. Since the program’s inception in 1995, BP has recognized 680 teachers for their dedication to teaching and inspiring students. This year, the program attracted more than 1,000 nominations.


BP Teachers of Excellence winners 



Anchorage school district
  • Holly Adkins - SAVE High School
  • Dorothea Culbert - Mirror Lake Middle School
  • Kate Danyluk, - Chugach Optional Elementary School
  • Margaret David - East Anchorage High School
  • Janelle Fey - Romig Middle School
  • Beth Ondra - Rabbit Creek Elementary School
  • Sandra Schmidt - Mirror Lake Middle School
  • Dennis Vecera - Ursa Minor Elementary School, JBER
  • Kathleen Vik - Chugiak High School
  • Daniel Whitfield - Goldenview Middle School
Fairbanks North Star school district
  • Elizabeth Beks - North Pole High School
  • Wendi Graham - West Valley High School
  • Elizabeth Hilker - Chinook Charter School
  • Lynn Johnson - Barnette Magnet School
  • Thad Keener - Denali Elementary School
  • Moira O'Malley - Watershed Charter School
  • Mary Reece - Anne Wien Elementary
Kenai Peninsula Borough school district
  • Darilynn Caston - Redoubt Elementary School, Soldotna
  • Sharon Hopkins - Tustumena Elementary School, Kasilof
  • James Knoebel - Soldotna High School
  • Nickole Lyon - Seward Elementary School
  • Patricia Truesdell - Hope K-12 School
Matanuska-Susitna Borough school district
  • Emily Forstner - Wasilla High School
  • Paula Hamand - Meadow Lakes Elementary
  • John Notestine - Wasilla High School
  • Penny Schram-Browner - Palmer High School
  • Kristopher Wagoner - Houston High School
Other Alaska school districts
  •  Madrigal Brown - Village of Nuiqsut Trapper School
  • Cherry Eckland - Juneau Harborview Elementary School
  • Mindy Jacobsen - Nenana City Public School
  • Rob Parsons - Sitka High School
  • Linda Richter - Village of Kokhanok School

For the complete list of winners across the state at BP Teachers of Excellence.

About BP in Alaska

Alaska is one of the nation’s five largest oil producing states. BP operates the Greater Prudhoe Bay area and owns significant interests in six producing fields operated by others. Annually BP contributes $5 million to education and community organizations in Alaska.


About BP

Over the past 10 years, BP has invested more than $90 billion in the U.S. – more than any other energy company. BP is a leading producer of oil and gas and produces enough energy annually to light nearly the entire country for a year. Employing more than 16,000 people in all 50 states, BP supports more than 170,000 additional jobs through all of its business activities. For more information, go to www.bp.com/us.