1. Home
  2. News and insights
  3. Reimagining energy magazine
  4. Angela Strank named first woman to win Cadman Award

Angela Strank named first woman to win Cadman Award

Release date:
3 May 2018
BP’s head of Downstream technology and chief scientist, Angela Strank, will make history by becoming the first woman to receive the prestigious Cadman Award, the Energy Institute has announced

Strank will receive the award, which since 1946 has been presented to an individual for their outstanding and significant service to the international oil industry, when she delivers her Cadman lecture in London in July.


The award comes after Strank received a Damehood in the Queen’s Birthday Honours list in June 2017, for services to the oil and gas industry and encouraging women into STEM careers.

I’m honoured to be the first woman to be receiving this award and to be delivering the Cadman lecture later this year.
Angela Strank,head of downstream technology and chief scientist

Passion for science

Strank's career with BP spans some 36 years and has included numerous, diverse international leadership roles across Upstream and Downstream. She has also found the time to promote STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Maths) and STEM careers, particularly to girls and young women. She has used her passion for STEM and communicated it to large numbers through media articles and interviews, lectures in schools and universities, and teaching science evening classes and at the Open University.


Externally, Strank holds appointments as a non-executive director, Seven Trent Water and a board governor, University of Manchester.

The Cadman Memorial Fund commemorates the late Lord Cadman of Silverdale, chairman of the Anglo-Iranian Oil Company (now BP) and past president of the Institute of Petroleum. Former winners of the Cadman Award include Sir Mark Moody-Stuart (2001) and Sir Alastair Down (1981).

Subscribe to our email for the latest stories in energy, technology and engineering, direct to your inbox...