1. Home
  2. Who we are
  3. Board and leadership team
  4. The board
  5. Dr Johannes Teyssen

Dr Johannes Teyssen

Johannes Teyssen - Independent non-executive director

Independent non-executive director


1 January 2021


Board and committee activities:

Member of the safety and sustainability committee


Outside interests:

Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Innogy SE.

Member of the Shareholders’ Committee of Nord Stream AG

Member of the Presidential Board of the Federation of German Industries
Director of Alpiq Holding AG




Career summary

Johannes began his professional career at VEBA AG in 1989. There he held a number of leadership positions across Legal Affairs and Key Account Sales. In 2000 VEBA became part of E.ON and in 2001 Johannes became a member of the Board of Management of the E.ON Group’s central management company in Munich. In 2004, he was also appointed to the Board of Management of E.ON SE in Düsseldorf and later went on to become Vice Chairman in 2008 and CEO in 2010.


He was President of Eurelectric from 2013 to 2015 and the World Energy Council’s Vice Chair responsible for Europe between 2006 to 2012. Johannes was a member of the Supervisory Board of Deutsche Bank AG between 2008 and 2018 and is currently a member of the Presidential Board of the Federation of German Industries and the Shareholders’ Committee of Nord Stream AG.


Skills and experience

Johannes brings exceptional experience and deep knowledge in the sector and its continuing transformation. His skill set further diversifies and strengthens the overall demographic and attributes of the board as a whole. His experience in the energy sector further enhances the board’s ability to support and oversee the delivery of bp’s new strategy. Johannes has a doctorate in law from the University of Göttingen.